Theft and Larceny in the State of West Virginia
In the state of West Virginia, theft is known as larceny, and requires a top of the line criminal defense attorney if charged with this misdemeanor or felony. At Hayden and Associates, we are dedicated to providing our clients with the best representation and other legal services available. Ensure that your rights are being protected from beginning to end for any charge of theft or larceny and call our knowledgeable staff in Beckley, WV, today!
From Petty Theft to Grand Larceny, We Offer the Best Defense!
Petty theft, or petit larceny, is the stealing of property or services values at less than $1,000, and is considered a misdemeanor. It is the lowest level offense in its category, and is punishable by a sentence of incarceration of no more than one year, a fine of no more than $2,500, or both. Felony theft, or grand larceny, is the theft of goods or services that are valued above $1,000. As a felony in West Virginia, this crime is punishable by imprisonment in the state penitentiary for no less than one to ten years, and a fine of up to $2,500. At Hayden and Associates, we offer the best criminal defense for our clients, so contact us today for your free consultation!
Shoplifting Offenses in West Virginia
The punishment for shoplifting in West Virginia becomes more severe as repeat offenses occur. The first convictions may only result in small fines, but can progress to be considered a felony under West Virginia law. The offender will not only be responsible for criminal punishment, but civil penalties as well, such as the returning of the products to the merchant, damage costs, reimbursement of the owner’s reasonable legal costs and fees, and more. The levels of offense of shoplifting are as follows:
First Shoplifting Offense:
- When the value of the products is $500 or less, it is considered a misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of no more than $250.
- When the value of the goods stolen is more than $500, it is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine ranging from $100 to $500, confinement in jail for a period of up to 60 days, or both.
Second Shoplifting Offense:
- When the value of the merchandise stolen is $500 or less, it is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine ranging from $100 to $500, and/or confinement in jail for up to six months.
- When the value of the theft exceeds $500, shoplifting is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of at least $500, and/or confinement in jail for six months to one year.
Third Shoplifting Offense:
- Considered to be a felony, which carries a punishment of a fine from $500 to $5,000, imprisonment for one to ten years.
Call us today at (866) 386-7374 to find out more!