Misdemeanor Crimes in the State of West Virginia
In the state of West Virginia, a misdemeanor is classified as any crime punishable by up to a year in a county or local jail. In order to be convicted of a misdemeanor, the statute of limitations must be adhered to, and court proceedings must begin within one year of the alleged crime. Misdemeanor crimes in West Virginia, such as marijuana possession and battery, h are punishable by jail time and/or a fine. For example, misdemeanors are categorized into classes, and the following is a breakdown of the ramification of committing a misdemeanor:
Class 1: Maximum of 12 months in a county jail with or without a fine of $2,500.
Class 2: Maximum of six months in a county jail with or without a fine of $1,000.
Class 3: No jail sentence; fines of up to $500.
Class 4: No jail sentence; fines up to $250.
Efficient and Effective Representation for Misdemeanors
If you’re looking to seal or expunge your record of a misdemeanor, or require legal representation following an arrest, contact the law office of Hayden and Associates in Beckley, WV. We offer the best legal services in Southern West Virginia, so you can rest assured that any case brought to us will be handled efficiently and effectively from start to finish. Our clients are our top priority, so contact us today to receive a free case evaluation!
Call us today at (866) 386-7374 to find out more!